The Parable of the Pharisee and the Baptized Believer

luke 18 9 14

And he spoke a parable unto certain men who trusted in themselves that they were righteous, and despised others.

Two men entered a church building to pray; the one a Pharisee and the other a baptized believer.

The Pharisee went to the front row, stood and prayed thus with himself.

God, I thank thee that I am not as other men are, Baptists, Methodists, Pentecostals, or even as this liberal. I assemble thrice a week, taking communion every Sunday and only on Sunday. I give liberally and cheerfully to the church treasury every Sunday and only on Sunday. I refuse to allow any food, except unleavened bread and unfermented grape juice, to enter this most holy building, even after services have been dismissed, and I refuse to call the room where communion is prepared a kitchen, even though it has kitchen cabinets, a kitchen sink, and a refrigerator. I sing psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs (except those mentioning Christ’s birth) without the aid or addition of musical instruments, or choirs. I refuse to help orphans or any other non-Christian (one who doesn’t believe exactly as I do) out of the church treasury. I refuse to support a missionary society or any other so called Christian institution out of the church treasury, and I wouldn’t even think of building something as sinful as a fellowship hall. I use the one and only scriptural name for the church even though those liberals, whom I lovingly refer to as erring brethren (sinners condemned to hell – James 5:19, 20), also use the same name. I bind certain examples and inferences (those which help me to add to your list of sins, thus condemning others who don’t agree with me) making them equal to your commandments. I speak only where the Bible speaks, and am silent where the Bible is silent (except for those sins mentioned above which I have added to the doctrine in order to set myself apart from all those despised denominations and liberals). I refuse to accept the definitions of words such as “psalms,” “aid,” or “denomination.” I am open minded to study and questions but I always throw out some intimidating verses such as 2 John 9, 10 in order to discourage and condemn those who dare to disagree with me, or question one of my added sins. If they persist to question me I accuse them of being weak, not a mature Christian as myself, and suggest that they are trying to justify some other sin in their life. I tell them not to raise these questions in class lest some weaker brother be made to stumble. If all these intimidations fail I declare that they have a problem with authority and threaten withdrawal. I then declare them to be false teachers and announce to the brotherhood worldwide that since they disagree with me these troublemakers have fallen from grace, and should be shunned. I know that because I do all these works that I am one of the few that will go to heaven when I die, leaving all those self-proclaimed Christians who disagree with me on any point to burn in hell.

And the baptized believer, sitting on the back pew, bowed his head saying;

Father, I pray in Christ’s name that you be merciful unto me and forgive me my many sins.

Which of these men went home justified?

(AUTHOR UNKNOWN)

About Damon Whitsell

In the last 18 years I have spent much of my time studying and doing Christian Cult Apologetics, and I spent 5 years studying, exposing and fighting Islam all @ DamonWhitsell.com. Since the five Dallas Police Officers were assassinated I have been fighting Black Lives Matter and studying it's related issues. It will be my passion and goal for years to come to fight and stop the Black Lives Matter Movement.

Posted on September 3, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

