A Great Book Refuting Baptismal Regeneration/Water Baptism Salvation

Heaven Only For the Baptized? The Gospel of Christ vs. Baptismal Regeneration

***********Heaven Only For the Baptized? The Gospel of Christ vs. Baptismal Regeneration***********

My short review of the following book offered at Amazon reads as follows…..

Bought this and read it in several sittings today and have to say it was really good, better than I expected. Even though I have baptismal regenerationist Mormons and Oneness Pentecostals relatives in my family and know the arguments very well I still learned much from my first read and intend to read it again while I take notes.

If you read the table of contents listed in the books description you will see that Ross basically has three parts to his book. First he lays out the biblical case for justification by faith alone, then he finishes up by examining the most often used proof-text for baptismal regeneration and the most common objections to justification by faith alone. Ross does such a fantastic job in the first part on justification that he hardly needs to delineate and expound on the proof-text or objections to justification to be persuasive, and get you to see the absurdity of focusing on a handful of proof-text verses in light of all that was said about justification, but he does so in a very comprehensive manner. He made many points and arguments that I had never heard before and really did an outstanding job. I think I have read most of the material on the internet concerning this debate but this small book is perhaps the best material on the subject I have ever read.

The only thing I would have done differently if I had written the book would have been to cover Christian Baptism in history. Some Church of Christers will offer up quotes from some early church fathers that seem to teach water baptism has some kind of regenerative effect but they will not offer up for you the far more abundant quotes coming from all early church fathers, and those same very ones they quote, showing that justification/salvation is by faith alone. So I think Mr. Ross should have covered that issue to disprove the historical argument.

The book is available only in digital format but is only 99 cents at Amazon. What a deal. It will save you much time surfing the net if your looking to get to the bottom of the “Is water baptism essential for salvation” debate. If you do get the book and read it please return here and comment to tell is what you think of the book.

http://www.amazon.com/Heaven-Baptized-Gospel-Baptismal-Regeneration-ebook/dp/B004XOGLSE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8

About Damon Whitsell

In the last 18 years I have spent much of my time studying and doing Christian Cult Apologetics, and I spent 5 years studying, exposing and fighting Islam all @ DamonWhitsell.com. Since the five Dallas Police Officers were assassinated I have been fighting Black Lives Matter and studying it's related issues. It will be my passion and goal for years to come to fight and stop the Black Lives Matter Movement.

Posted on September 10, 2015, in Baptism Prooftext, Baptismal Regeneration, Books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

